Departmental Advising

Undergraduate engineering students should seek advice from their Departmental Advisors concerning pre-requisite overrides, special permission numbers, scheduling, grad school, and other questions related to engineering major courses.
Some examples include:

  • Can I take a junior departmental course at the same time as a sophomore course?  
  • I am trying to graduate a year early, will I be able to get overrides to do this? 
  • How do I obtain a special permission number for Fluids?
  • Who do I talk to if I want to take a graduate course and potentially get a MS or Phd in Engineering?

Department Office and
Admin Asst.

Undergraduate
Director

Graduate Director
and Chair

Applied Sciences 073
EN B100; 848-445-2212

Advising: Dr. A. Long
EN-B100; 848-445-2212
aieshalo@rutgers.edu

Internship/Co-op & Career Development:
Dr. P. Brown, EN-B114
philip.r.brown@rutgers.edu
https://prof-brown-rutgers.youcanbook.me/

 
Applied Sciences - Packaging 073A
CORE 603; 848-445-3224
Magy Gergus
magy.gergus@rutgers.edu

Dr. H. Lin
EN-B240; 848-445-2322
hlin@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. J. Shan (GD)
jshan@rutgers.edu

Dr. A. Cuitino (Chair)
alberto.cuitino@rutgers.edu

BioEnvironmental 116/117
Environmental 366

ENR 252; 848-932-5762
Jeannie Nicewicz
jnicewicz@envsci.rutgers.edu

Dr. U. Krogmann
ENR 246; 848-932-5729
krogmann@aesop.rutgers.edu
 
Biomedical 125
BME-110845-445-6869
Linda Johnson
lindalj@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. K. Labazzo
BME 328C; 848-445-6578
sakala@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. J. Freeman (GD)
jfreeman@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. D. Shreiber (Chair)
david.shreiber@rutgers.edu

Chemical 155
EN-C226; 848-445-2228
Deborah Sclafani
debsclaf@soe.rutgers.edu
Dr. Y. Chiew
EN C150-B; 848-445-0315
yee.chiew@rutgers.edu

Dr. F. Celik (GD)
fuat.celik@rutgers.edu 

Dr. H. Buettner (Chair)
helen.buettner@rutgers.edu

Civil 180
WH-304E; 848-445-2569
​Linda Szary
ljs@soe.rutgers.edu
Dr. H. Najm 
WH 428G; 848-445-7980
hnajm@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. H. Wang (GD)
hwang.cee@rutgers.edu

Dr. N. Gucunski (Chair)
gucunski@soe.rutgers.edu

Electrical & Computer 332
EE-120; 848-445-6600
Pamela Heinold
pamela.heinold@rutgers.edu

Dr. R. Yates
EE 122; 848-445-8515
eceundergraddirector@soe.rutgers.edu

 
Dr. Y. Chen (GD)
 
Dr. N. Mandayam (Chair)
 
Industrial 540
CORE 201; 848-445-3654
Laura Kasica 
Lk405@soe.rutgers.edu
Dr. E. Wicks
CoRE 210; 848-445-8787

Dr. MK. Jeong (GD)
mjeong@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. M. Jafari (Chair)
jafari@soe.rutgers.edu

Materials Science 635
CCR 203; 848-445-1651
Nahed Assal 
nahed.assal@rutgers.edu

Dr. E.K. Akdogan
CCR 114; 848-445-4513
eka@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. A. Mann (GD)
msegrad@soe.rutgers.edu

Dr. L. Klein (Chair)
licklein@soe.rutgers.edu

Aerospace 021
EN B226; 848-445-3514
Cynthia Cartegna
ccartegn@soe.rutgers.edu
Dr. S. Tse
EN B232A; 848-445-0449
sdytse@rutgers.edu

Dr. J. Shan (GD)
jshan@rutgers.edu

Dr. A. Cuitino (Chair)
alberto.cuitino@rutgers.edu

Mechanical 650
EN B226; 848-445-3514
Cynthia Cartegna
ccartegn@soe.rutgers.edu
Dr. Q. Zou
EN D101; 848-445-3268
qzzou@rutgers.edu

Dr. J. Shan (GD)
jshan@rutgers.edu

Dr. A. Cuitino (Chair)
alberto.cuitino@rutgers.edu

 

Academic Services Advising (B100): Questions related to  general education requirements (calculus 1-4, physics 1a, 1b, 2a, chemistry 1/2, Statics, Matlab, H/SS electives) and graduation requirements should be referred to the Office of Academic Services

Some examples include: