March 2011

March 9, 2011
Dr. Narayan Mandayam, a professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Associate Director of WINLAB, has been selected to receive the Peter D. Cherasia Faculty Scholar Award.
March 4, 2011
On April 15th, more than 100 alumni, faculty, staff and friends gathered at the Zimmerli Art Museum to honor the School of Engineering 2011 Medal of Excellence recipients. After the Dean’s opening remarks, the recipients were welcomed to the stage to receive their awards and share their thoughts and comments with guests.
March 4, 2011
Dr. Randal D. Pinkett, ENG ’95, along with fellow Engineering alumni - Robert Alan Glassman, ENG ’64, Dr. Gary Neuwerth, GS-NB ’74, Dr. Nozer Singpurwalla, GS-NB ’64, and Dr. Cecilia Paredes, GS-NB ’00 – will be honored at the 2011 School of Engineering Awards Dinner to be held on Friday, April 15, 2011, at the Jane Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum in New Brunswick.
March 4, 2011
It is my pleasure to report that Prof. HC. Gea of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering has accepted the position Director, Packaging Engineering Program. HC joined Rutgers in 1993 after education at the National Taiwan University, the University of Southern California, and the University of Michigan. He currently serves as Professor and Director of the Undergraduate Program of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

February 2011

February 8, 2011
Article in the Targum: With the start of a new semester, the Engineering Governing Council is both beginning and continuing initiatives to address various concerns of the engineering student body. Through the Engineering Affairs Committee, the council is working to expand study abroad opportunities for engineering students, who find it difficult to do so without sacrificing graduating on time, said David Park, council president.
February 7, 2011
It is my pleasure to report that Prof. Yee C. Chiew of the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering has accepted the position Associate Dean for International Programs. Yee joined Rutgers in 1985 after education at the University of Edinburgh and Penn as well as a post-doc at SUNY Stony Brook. He currently serves as Professor and Director of the Graduate Program of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering as well as Director of the GAANN Graduate Fellowship Program in Pharmaceutical Engineering.
February 3, 2011
Rachel Sparks, a 4th year Laboratory for Computational Imaging and Bioinformatics (LCIB), BME PhD student has been awarded a 1 year, $20,000 fellowship from the Society for Imaging Informatics in Medicine (SIIM) for her grant proposal entitled "Automated Content-Based Image Retrieval System for Gleason Grading on Prostate Histopathology".  Rachel is advised by Professor Anant Madabhushi.

January 2011

January 27, 2011
Terry Stewart ENG'69, ED'69President and CEO, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum
January 26, 2011
E. A. Elsayed, professor II in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at the School of Engineering, Rutgers–New Brunswick, has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers for his contributions to the field of reliability engineering, aviation and aircraft separation standards, and sheet folding theory and technology. Learn more about Professor Elsayed here.
January 6, 2011
Engineering Exploration for First Year Students Steve (ENG ’50) and Julie Albertalli recently visited one of the Steve and Julie Albertalli Engineering Exploration for First Year Students classes. Through a generous gift, they have made it possible to expand this course offering to a larger number of first year students.