President Obama Honors Outstanding Early-Career Scientists and Engineers

President Obama named 100 beginning researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed by the United States government on young professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. The recipient scientists and engineers will receive their awards in the Fall at a White House ceremony.

The Presidential Early Career Awards embody the high priority the Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers to advance the Nation's goals and contribute to all sectors of the economy. Nine Federal departments and agencies join together annually to nominate the most meritorious young scientists and engineers - researchers whose early accomplishments show the greatest promise for strengthening America's leadership in science and technology and contributing to the awarding agencies' missions.

Rutgers School of Engineering professor Hao Lin is one of 20 young researchers nominated by their funding agency, the National Science Foundation (NSF). They were named winners of 2008 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). This award gives outstanding junior faculty a secure financial footing to establish research programs and share knowledge through outreach programs.

Lin, an assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, is applying principles of fluid mechanics to biological sciences. He is studying how electric fields can be used to open cell walls to deliver medicines or genes. The technique has been applied in research and clinical settings, studying the release of calcium in the heart muscle, specifically to understand an aberration known as calcium waves.

Lin earned a bachelor's degree from Beijing University in 1996 and a doctorate from the University of California at Berkley in 2001. He did postdoctoral research at Stanford in micro fluidic devices to advance "lab-on-a-chip" concepts before joining Rutgers in 2005.