January 2013

January 6, 2013
  For a lifetime of achievement in fundamental and applied leadership in heat transfer, Professor Yogesh Jaluria was named an honorary member of ASME at an event in Houston on November 12, 2012.  Dr. Jaluria is the Board of Governors Professor in the Rutgers School of Engineering’s Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. 

December 2012

December 19, 2012
Nominations are now being accepted for the School of Engineering's annual faculty recognition awards: Outstanding Engineering Faculty of the Year and Faculty of the Year. These awards are an important opportunity for our SoE community—faculty, staff, students, alumni, donors, and board members—to recognize the special achievements and contributions of our dedicated faculty members.     Award criteria and nominating instructions: 
December 19, 2012
Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering Susan Albin has been chosen to receive the 2012 George E. Kimball Medal from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) for her distinguished service to the organization and to her profession.   The George E. Kimball Medal--named for the quantum chemistry and operations research pioneer--is awarded annually to recognize distinguished service to INFORMS and to the profession of operations research and the management sciences.
December 18, 2012     When School of Engineering senior Anthony Brown first learned he was the recipient of a $15,000 School of Engineering Alumni-Industry Scholar Award earlier this semester, he is not embarrassed to admit he shed a few tears of happiness.  
December 7, 2012
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Professor George J. Weng has been selected to receive the Society of Engineering Science William Prager Medal for his outstanding research contributions in solid mechanics.  
December 7, 2012
School of Engineering Welcomes Brazilian Students Global Education Program Promotes Intercultural Awareness   
December 7, 2012
School of Engineering In the News:  Human airbag, chocolate-making machine among senior projects on display at Rutgers University (Star-Ledger)

November 2012

November 29, 2012
Five Rutgers professors are among 702 scholars that the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elevated to the rank of fellow. The pre-eminent national scientific organization selects fellows based on their efforts in advancing science or fostering applications considered scientifically or socially distinguished.
November 28, 2012
Two of  three School of Engineering first-year students with their faculty parents; (l to r) Nicolas Cuitino, Alberto Cuitino, Meredith Taghon and Monica Mazurek.  Mohsen Jafari and his son Idin Jafari, not pictured.