Outstanding Faculty Members Andrew N. Norris and Marco Gruteser Honored

Cherasia Faculty Scholar and Tyson Junior Professors Also Recognized at Annual Awards Ceremony and Reception

The Rutgers University School of Engineering is pleased to announce the 2014 Faculty Award winners, following a nomination and selection process that included the School’s faculty, alumni, and friends. In recognition of their contributions to the School of Engineering through their achievements in scholarship, teaching, and service Andrew N. Norris, distinguished professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, has been named Faculty of the Year and Marco Gruteser, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, will receive the Outstanding Engineering Faculty award.

“These awards are a source of great pride to the School of Engineering and the awardees are representative of the skills and accomplishments of our faculty,” said Tom Farris, dean of the School of Engineering. “In addition to recognizing the outstanding educational commitment of our faculty, the awards are also an excellent opportunity to highlight the leading edge research that is taking place within the School of Engineering.”

The Outstanding Engineering Faculty awardees are nominated by a department chair and selected by the School of Engineering Industry Advisory Board. The Faculty of the Year awardee may be nominated by any member of the Engineering community and is selected by a committee which includes previous recipients of the SoE Medal of Excellence and Faculty of the Year Award. Recipients receive an award ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 to further their scholarship and research activities.

Other faculty awards include the Peter D. Cherasia Faculty Scholar Award which will be presented to Manish Parashar, professor of electrical and computer engineering. Established by Peter D. Cherasia ENG’84, this award recognizes and fosters excellence in teaching and scholarly activity in highly quantitative and computational aspects of engineering research related to financial problems. The A. Walter Tyson Assistant Professorship Award will be presented to Fuat E. Celik, assistant professor of chemical and biochemical engineering, Jie Gong, assistant professor of civil and environmental engineering, and Aaron Mazzeo, assistant professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering. Established by A. Walter Tyson ENG’52, this award is used to recruit promising junior faculty.

Honored faculty were recognized at an awards ceremony and reception in the CAIT auditorium and lobby on Friday, April 4, 2014.

Faculty of the Year: Andrew N. Norris

Andrew N. Norris, who joined the School of Engineering faculty in 1985, is a distinguished instructor and an eminent scholar whose research interests include theoretical and applied mechanics, with emphasis on wave propagation and mechanics of materials. Most recently, his research related to developing, modeling, and testing advanced acoustic metamaterials has positioned him as a leader in the emergent field of acoustic metamaterials. These fluid-like materials exhibit extraordinary wave bearing properties and can be used to achieve acoustic cloaking. One extreme effect of cloaking is surrounding an object with a layer of metamaterial bending the wave energy around it, making the object appear invisible. In 2010, Norris invented Metal Water, a generic type of material that can mimic the acoustic properties of water, but can be modified to show the anisotropic effects necessary for acoustic cloaking. Prototypes are currently in production, a patent has been filed, and underwater testing is ongoing at a Navy laboratory.

Norris has an extensive record of teaching both undergraduates and graduates, he continues to serve on numerous committees within the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Rutgers University, and is engaged with many scholarly and professional organizations. He was a Fulbright Fellow in France in 2013, and is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and of the institute of Mathematics and Applications. Norris received both his Bachelor of Science and Master’s degrees from the University College, Dublin and a Ph.D. from Northwestern University.

Outstanding Engineering Faculty: Marco Gruteser

Marco Gruteser is an associate professor of electrical and computer engineering at Rutgers University and a member of the School of Engineering’s Wireless Information Network Laboratory (WINLAB). He is a pioneer in the area of location privacy, developing techniques for enhancing the privacy of location data and demonstrating how they can be incorporated into real-time traffic or other vehicle telematics systems. Through related research he conceived and directed a project to conduct a security and privacy evaluation of wireless systems in cars, using the tire pressure monitoring system as a case study. He also co-invented an app that relies on fine-grained localization of a mobile phone inside a car to distinguish a driver’s phone from a passenger’s phone to reduce distractions (e.g., silence incoming text messages). This project received a best paper award from ACM MobiCom and an Innovator’s Award from the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame.

Gruteser has expanded the ECE curriculum by developing a course in network-centric programming and co-developed/co-taught the first iteration of a mobile programing course. His research has appeared on CNN and NPR, as well as in the New York Times, MIT Technology Review, CBC Online, and many other media outlets. Gruteser is a graduate of Germany’s Darmstadt University of Technology, completing his Master’s and doctoral degrees in Computer Science from the University of Colorado at Boulder in 2000 and 2004, respectively.

Promotions and Reappointments

The School of Engineering is also pleased to announce the following faculty promotions: Ioannis Androulakis, professor, biomedical engineering and chemical and biochemical engineering; Shantenu Jha, associate professor with tenure, electrical and computer engineering; Narayan B. Mandayam, distinguished professor, electrical and computer engineering; and David I. Shreiber, professor, biomedical engineering.

The following faculty members have been reappointed: Waheed Bajwa, assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering; Meenakshi Dutt, assistant professor, chemical and biochemical engineering; Jaesok Jeon, assistant professor, electrical and computer engineering; Kang Li, assistant professor, industrial and systems engineering; Deirdre O’Carroll, assistant professor, materials science and engineering and chemistry and chemical biology; Mark Pierce, assistant professor, biomedical engineering; Hao Wang, assistant professor, civil and environmental engineering; and Honggang Wang, assistant professor, industrial and systems engineering.