SoE Faculty Members Promoted to Distinguished Professor

The Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering’s Marianthi Ierapetritou and Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering’s Athina Petropulu recently advanced to the ranks of distinguished professor—a title reserved for faculty who have achieved “scholarly eminence” in their field, according to the university.

“It gives me tremendous pleasure to congratulate Professors Ierapetritou and Petropulu on achieving the honorable title of distinguished professor. They are both highly influential researchers and educators within the engineering community, and I know they will continue to serve the university with unwavering professionalism,” said School of Engineering dean Thomas Farris.

Marianthi Ierapetritou

Ierapetritou has published over 150 papers and received over 50 conference invitations to discuss her research, which focuses on process operations, flexible manufacturing systems, modeling of reactive flow processes, and metabolic engineering. She has served as chair of the Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering since 2013.

Among Ierapetritou’s many awards are the prestigious NSF Career Award (2000-2004), NASA’s New Jersey Space Grant Consortium (2000-2001), Rutgers’ Teaching Excellence Award (2002), and the School of Engineering’s Outstanding Faculty Award (2012).

Highly active in the scientific community, Ierapetritou serves as vice president of Computer Aids in Chemical Engineering (CACHE) and vice chair/program coordinator for the Computing and Systems Technology (CAST) division of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). She is also a member of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS), the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), and the Engineering Specific Career Advisory Problem-Solving Environment (ESCAPE).

Athina Petropulu

Petropulu’s research involves statistical signal processing, wireless networking, and radar systems. She has published over 350 papers in premiere journals and conferences. Funded by major sponsors—including the National Science Foundation, the Office of Naval Research, the U.S. Army, and the National Institutes of Health—she has made fundamental contributions in her field that range from physical layer security for wireless communications to radar systems that use sparse sensing.

Petropulu is an IEEE Fellow, and currently serves as distinguished lecturer for the IEEE Signal Processing Society. Her past roles include president of the ECE Department Heads Association (ECEDHA), editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing, IEEE Signal Processing Society vice president of conferences, and member-at-large of the IEEE Signal Processing Board of Governors. She was the general chair of the 2005 International Conference on Acoustics Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP-05), which is the flagship conference of the IEEE Signal Processing Society, and is general co-chair of the 2018 IEEE International Workshop on Signal Processing Advances in Wireless Communications (SPAWC), Kalamata, Greece.                            

Petropulu is a recipient of the Presidential Faculty Fellow Award (1995) given by the National Science Foundation and the White House, Whitaker Foundation Award (1995), IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Paper Award (2005), and IEEE Signal Processing Society Meritorious Service Award (2012).