Medal of Excellence 2019

October 10, 2019
MOE_Resize logo_edited-1_1.jpg
Thursday, October 10, 2019

Presented by Raytheon 

The Palace at Somerset Park
333 Davidson Avenue
Somerset, NJ 08837
6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. | Cocktail Reception Presented by Aircastle Limited
7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. | Dinner and Award Presentations

Tickets and Sponsorships

​The Medal of Excellence Awards, established in 2006, recognize graduates of Rutgers University School of Engineering who have distinguished themselves professionally since graduation in industry, academia, government, research, and business. The awards also recognize alumni who have distinguished themselves in other areas including continued involvement in the School of Engineering and social responsibility.

Honorees are celebrated at a networking dinner event that is attended by alumni and SoE faculty and students, as well as an impressive representation of local industry members and other distinguished guests. In addition, the Rutgers Engineering Society (RES) presents its Distinguished Engineer Award at this event.


2019 Medal of Excellence Honorees

Medal of Excellence Award

Michael J. Inglese
BS'83, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, MBA'88
Chief Executive Officer
Aircastle Limited


Distinguished Achievement in Industry 

Frank DeMauro II
BS'88, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Sector Vice President & General Manager, Space Systems Division
Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems


Distinguished Achievement in Research

Linda M. Braun, Ph.D.
BS'84, MS'87, PhD'90, Department of Ceramic Science and Engineering--now Materials Science and Engineering
Vice President, Photonic Solutions
CACI International Inc.


Distinguished Young Alumnus

Carlos E. Caicedo-Carvajal, Ph.D.
PhD'09, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Director of R&D and Product Development
Orthobond Corporation


Dean's Award for Service 

Robert J. Cenker
MS'77, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Aerospace Systems Consultant
NASA Payload Specialist, 1986 STS-61-C Columbia
Terry J. Hart
MS’78, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor, Lehigh University
NASA Mission Specialist, 1984 STS-41-C Challenger


Rutgers Engineering Society Distinguished Engineer Award

Thomas D. Everett
BS'84, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Executive Director
Federal Highway Administration