Medal of Excellence Awards Dinner

October 13, 2016
Thursday, October 13, 2016
Rutgers University-New Brunswick
Livingston Hall
Livingston Student Center
84 Joyce Kilmer Avenue
Piscataway NJ 08854
6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. | Cocktail Reception
7:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. | Dinner and Presentation


Tickets and Sponsorships

​The Medal of Excellence Awards, established in 2006, recognize graduates of Rutgers University School of Engineering who have distinguished themselves professionally since graduation in industry, academia, government, research, and business. The awards also recognize alumni who have distinguished themselves in other areas including continued involvement in the School of Engineering and social responsibility.

Honorees are celebrated at a networking dinner event that is attended by alumni and SoE faculty and students, as well as an impressive representation of local industry members and other distinuguished guests.  In addition, the Rutgers Engineering Society (RES) presents its Distinguished Engineer Award at this event. Read the 2016 honoree announcement.

2016 Medal of Excellence Honorees

Medal of Excellence Award

Marvin O. Schlanger BS'69 Chemical Engineering
Chairman of the Board
UGI Corporation and UGI Utilities

Distinguished Achievement in Industry 

Vijay Swarup, PhD MS'88, PhD'90 Chemical Engineering
Vice President for Research and Development
ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company

Distinguished Achievement in Research

Dorin I. Comaniciu, PhD PhD'00 Electrical and Computer Engineering
Vice President of Medical Imaging Technologies
Siemens Healthcare

Distinguished Young Alumna

Jackelynne Silva-Martinez, BS'08 Mechanical Engineering
Aerospace Engineer
NASA Johnson Space Center, Houston

Dean's Award for Service

John McAllen III BS’93, MS’96 Mechanical Engineering
Mathematics Teacher
Point Pleasant Borough High School

Rutgers Engineering Society Distinguished Engineer

Andrew J. Foden, PhD BS'94, PhD'99 Civil Engineering
Senior Bridge Evaluation and Technology Manager
WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff

Read more about each honoree>>

Directions and Parking